About the GALA

Celebrating the resilience of Syrian children and youth impacted by war, the Gala will bring together supporters from around the world for an inspirational 1-hour online program. Joined by celebrity special guests and performers, we are raising critical funds to support the education and empowerment of Syrian children and youth around the globe.

Date & Time

22 November 12 pm EST/5 pm GMT/9 pm GST
Live Broadcasted – Register below!

Guest Speakers

Yusra Mardini

Yusra Mardini and her elder sister fled the Syrian war and set off on a perilous journey to find safety in Europe. In summer 2015, they traveled through Lebanon to Turkey before departing for Greece in an overcrowded dinghy. Fifteen minutes into the sea crossing, the boat’s engine failed. As a professional swimmer, Yusra was determined not to let any of her fellow passengers drown. Yusra, her sister, and two others jumped into the waves and swam for three and a half hours in open water to stop their dinghy from capsizing, saving the lives of 20 people.
A year later, Yusra’s courage, determination, and strong swimming skills were recognized by the International Olympic Committee, and became a member of the first-ever Refugee Olympic Team. Yusra competed at the Olympic Games in Rio in 2016, helping to represent 65 million displaced people worldwide. Since then, Yusra has addressed the United Nations General Assembly and met world leaders such as US President Barack Obama and Pope Francis. She has been presented with a number of prestigious awards and has been recognized for her work by Time and People magazines.