جسور تنال جائزة الحرية الأكاديمية

(22 تشرين الثاني 2015، دينفر، كلورادو) اختارت رابطة دراسات الشرق الأوسط في أمريكا الشمالية (MESA) منظمة جسور الغير حكومية لنيل جائزة الحرية الأكاديمية لعام 2015.

تم إنشاء منظمة جسور عام 2011 وهي تُدار من قبل مغتربين سوريين لدعم تنمية بلادهم ومساعدة الشباب السوريين لإطلاق طاقاتهم، وذلك من خلال برامج أكاديمية للطلاب، وبرامج دعم مهني للشباب، وبرامج لإشراك مجتمع المغتربين السوريين حول العالم.

قدمت رابطة دراسات الشرق الأوسط في أمريكا الشمالية (MESA) الجائزة لمنظمة جسور مساء يوم الأحد 22 تشرين الثاني 2015، في حفل توزيع الجوائز الذي عقد خلال اجتماعها السنوي، في دنفر، كولورادو. وأشادت الرابطة من خلال لجنة الحرية الأكاديمية لديها بعمل جسور في لبنان منذ عام 2013، والذي يسعى للوصول لأكبر عدد ممكن من الأطفال السوريين اللاجئين الذين يعيشون هناك وضمان حصولهم على التعليم الأساسي، كما وتحسين نوعية تعليمهم ورفع نتائجهم التعليمية.

استلام جائزة الحرية الأكاديمية

تستلم مايا الكاتب شامي (في الوسط إلى اليسار) جائزة رابطة دراسات الشرق الأوسط للحرية الأكاديمية نيابة عن منظمة جسور، وذلك برفقة لوري براند (في الوسط إلى اليمين)، رئيسة لجنة الحرية الأكاديمية في رابطة الدراسات، وناثان براون (إلى اليسار)، رئيس الرابطة، وإيمي نيوهول (إلى اليمين)، مديرتها التنفيذية.

تعمل جسور من خلال مكاتبها في الولايات المتحدة ولبنان لتقديم سبع برامج للمنح الدراسية لمساعدة الطلاب السوريين الذين يتطلعون إلى إكمال دراستهم في الخارج، وذلك في أفضل الجامعات في الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية وكندا وأوروبا والشرق الأوسط. ومن أبرز المنظمات الشريكة لجسور في هذا المجال المعهد الدولي للتعليم (IIE)، ومؤسسة سعيد للتنمية، ومعهد إلينوي للتكنولوجيا، والذي قبل الطلاب السوريين في الآونة الأخيرة أكثر من أي مؤسسة أمريكية أخرى.

“الحاجة إلى مشاركة أكبر لدعم تعليم الطلاب السوريين هي أمر مُلح بشكل متزايد استجابةً للأزمة الحالية”، قالت مايا الكاتب شامي – مديرة جسور لدى استلام الجائزة نيابة عن المنظمة، متابعة “نحن نؤمن بأن هذا الدعم يساهم في تمكين سورية وشعبها على المدى الطويل، إلى جانب مساعدة الطلاب الأفراد لمتابعة تعليمهم رغم الكارثة. إن للأكاديميين وللمؤسسات الأكاديمية دور أساسي في هذه الاستجابة، كما وفرصة للعب دور قيادي على مستوى العالم.”

“مع وجود أكثر من 4 ملايين لاجئ سوري، وكون أكثر من نصفهم تحت عمر الثامنة عشرة، هناك حاجة ملحة للتركيز على فرصهم التعليمية”، قالت لوري براند – رئيسة لجنة الحرية الأكاديمية في الرابطة أثناء تقديم الجائزة. “لقد استجابت جسور لهذه الأزمة الإنسانية من خلال التوعية وبرامجها الرائدة، وذلك بإشراك قاعدة سخية من المتطوعين، ومحدثة فرقاً حقيقياً في حياة السوريين الشباب. تفتخر لجنة الحرية الأكاديمية بتقديم جائزة الحرية الأكاديمية لعام 2015 لمنظة جسور.”

وأشادت لجنة الحرية الأكاديمية بمنظمة جسور:

“تدعم جسور برامج المنح الدراسية المختلفة التي تنظمها ببرنامج الإرشاد الأكاديمي، والذي يقدم المشورة الأكاديمية للدراسة في الخارج من خلال ربط المغتربين السوريين والمتطوعين مع الطلاب في سورية والنازحين مؤخراً خارج البلاد على حد سواء لتوفير التدريب والتوجيه بشأن الدراسة الأكاديمية في الخارج. يتلقى الطلاب التوجيه من مرشديهم على مواضيع متنوعة مثل إجراءات القبول في الجامعات وعملية التقدم للدراسة، ومجالات الدراسة، والحياة في الحرم الجامعي ونفقات المعيشة المتوقعة، إضافة إلى كتابة طلب التقديم والتقدم لتأشيرة السفر.

لقد اتفق زملاؤنا بالإجماع ممن لهم دراية بعمل منظمة جسور على أنها من أكثر المنظمات غير الحكومية مهنية وفعالية في مساعدة اللاجئين السوريين على مواصلة تعليمهم.”


رابطة دراسات الشرق الأوسط هي رابطة خاصة غير ربحية، وغير سياسية تجمع العلماء والأساتذة والمهتمين بدراسة منطقة الشرق الأوسط من جميع أنحاء العالم. أنشئت الرابطة عام 1966من قبل خمسين عضواً مؤسساً، ليزيد عدد أعضائها اليوم على 2700. وتشتمل المنظمة اليوم على ستين مؤسسة عضوة، وتسع وثلاثين منظمة تابعة لها.

تسعى لجنة الحرية الأكاديمية لتعزيز التبادل الحر للمعرفة كحق من حقوق الإنسان، وتمنع التعديات على هذا الحق من قبل القيود الحكومية على الأكاديميين. يبين كل من إعلان الأمم المتحدة العالمي لحقوق الإنسان والميثاق الدولي الخاص بالحقوق السياسية والمدنية، والميثاق الخاص بالحقوق الإقتصادية والاجتماعية والثقافية المعايير الرئيسية التي تم تحديدها لانتهاكات حقوق الإنسان اليوم، وتشمل هذه الحقوق الحق في التعليم والعمل، والحق في حرية التنقل والإقامة، وحرية التجمع وتكوين الجمعيات.

Award for Jusoor

نُشرت فينوفمبر 24, 2015 فيأخبار جسور

شارك القصة

Back to Top

Jusoor wins Academic Freedom Award

(November 22, 2015, Denver, CO)  The Middle East Studies Association of North America (MESA) has recognized the nongovernmental organization Jusoor with its 2015 Academic Freedom Award.

Jusoor, meaning “bridges” in Arabic, was created in 2011 and is run by Syrian expatriates supporting the country’s development and helping Syrian youth realize their potential through various programs and initiatives in the fields of education, career development, and global community engagement.

MESA made the award on Sunday evening, November 22, 2015, at an awards ceremony held during its 49th annual meeting, in Denver, Colorado.  MESA, through its Committee on Academic Freedom (CAF), cited in particular Jusoor’s work in Lebanon since 2013, seeking to reach as many Syrian refugee children as possible now living in that country to ensure that they are enrolled in formal education wherever possible and supporting solid educational outcomes and quality instruction.

Receiving MESA Academic Freedom Award

Maya Alkateb-Chami (center left), Director of Jusoor, recipient of the Middle East Studies Association’s 2015 Academic Freedom Award with Laurie Brand (center right), Chair of MESA’s Committee for Academic Freedom, MESA President Nathan Brown (left), and MESA Executive Director Amy Newhall (right).

With offices in the US and Lebanon, Jusoor works through seven different scholarships to help Syrian students looking to complete their studies abroad at top universities across the US, Canada, Europe and Middle East. It partners with, among others, the International Institute of Education, the Said Foundation, and the Illinois Institute of Technology, which has accepted more Syrian students than any other US institution recently.

“The need for more involvement to support education for Syrian students is increasingly urgent in response to the current crisis,“ said Maya Alkateb-Chami, Director of Jusoor, accepting the award on behalf of the organization.  “We believe that this support contributes to capacity building for the country and its peoples in the long run, in addition to helping individuals continue their education despite the emergency. Academia and academic institutions have a unique role to play and an opportunity to exemplify leadership on a global level.”

“With more than half of the 4 million Syrian refugees under the age of 18, there is an pressing need to focus on their educational opportunities,” said Laurie Brand, Chair of the Committee on Academic Freedom, on presenting the award.  “Jusoor has responded to the humanitarian crisis with effective outreach and programs that engage a generous volunteer base and are making a real difference in the lives of young Syrians. CAF is proud to present our Academic Freedom Award for 2015 to Jusoor.”

CAF noted the following in recognizing Jusoor:

“In support of its different scholarship programs, Jusoor also offers academic advice through its Study Abroad Mentorship Program. The initiative is focused on connecting expatriate Syrians and volunteers with students both in Syria and among those recently displaced outside the country to provide coaching and mentoring regarding academic study abroad. Students receive guidance from their mentors on such varied topics as college admissions procedures and the application process, fields of study and campus life, anticipated living expenses, as well as how to write a personal statement or apply for a visa.

Colleagues of ours who are familiar with Jusoor uniformly characterized it as the most professional and effective of the NGOs assisting Syrian refugees with pursuing their education.”


The Middle East Studies Association (MESA) is a private, non-profit, non-political learned society that brings together scholars, educators and those interested in the study of the region from all over the world. From its inception in 1966 with 50 founding members, MESA has increased its membership to more than 2,700 and now serves as an umbrella organization for more than sixty institutional members and thirty-nine affiliated organizations.


The Committee on Academic Freedom (CAF) seeks to foster the free exchange of knowledge as a human right and to inhibit infringements on that right by government restrictions on scholars. The United Nations’ Universal Declaration of Human Rights, Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights provide the principal standards by which human rights violations are identified today. Those rights include the right to education and work, freedom of movement and residence, and freedom of association and assembly.

Award for Jusoor

Posted on November 24, 2015 in Jusoor news

Share the Story

Back to Top